The LLCC Criminal Justice Resources LibGuide provides links to helpful information about print and online library resources available to students attending Lincoln Land Community College. To navigate the guide, select one of the tabs to view additional information about that topic. The library links to several independent resources, so please use this guide as a starting point only. If you have any questions related to research using the library's catalog or journal databases, please feel free to contact us in person or via telephone (217-786-2352). Our Reference Desk is staffed from 8:30 a.m. to close, Monday through Friday.
Highlighted on this page you will find a sampling of LLCC Library eJournals & electronic databases, which are available to you as an LLCC student.
What is an eJournal? An eJournal (electronic journal) provides publication of periodicals--magazines, scholarly journals, trade publications, etc.--electronically for your convenience. LLCC's eJournals are freely accessible electronically to our students and staff.
What is a database?
A database provides electronic access to articles from periodicals published in print. What does this mean for you? It means that if the article of interest is available through one of our databases, then you can access it as long as you have an Internet connection. You can access these articles from the comfort of your own home with the ability to read or request the article online, print, save or download the article. Being able to access articles electronically allows you the freedom of accessing information anytime of day or night.
If you are accessing our databases off-campus, then you will notice that when you click on a database you will first be prompted to sign in with a username and password. Please note that this is the same LLCC username and password you use to access BlackBoard, LLCC email, & WebAdvisor.
All of the items on this page are physically located in the LLCC Library. We have circulating books--which are books you can check out and take home with you--and non-circulating books--which are books that cannot go home with you. A patron may look at non-circulating materials anywhere in the library, make photocopies, or scan and email pages to oneself, but they must stay in the library.
LLCC Library also has a large collection of electronic books, which you can access directly from your computer or tablet. You can view these by searching our book catalog (the lists below do not reflect e-Books).
Want to begin searching for materials from LLCC Library right now? Below is a search box that will search for anything in our collection -OR- go to the LLCC Library Homepage and search for a title or subject under the Books & More tab. Give it a whirl:
Purdue OWL shows how to create a proper citation along with examples. Additionally, it shows you how to do in-text citations; gives an example of a research paper with all the proper citation included; and exercises to practice certain skills.