- Books & Media
- Print Books
- eBooks
- CourseReserves
- DVDs
- CDs
- Databases
- A-Z Database List
- EBSCOhost Databases
- Articles (Search & Discover)
- State Journal-Register (NewsBank)
- Study Rooms
- Book a Study Room
Service Alert
The LLCC Criminal Justice Resources LibGuide provides links to helpful information about print and online library resources available to students attending Lincoln Land Community College. To navigate the guide, select one of the tabs to view additional information about that topic. The library links to several independent resources, so please use this guide as a starting point only. If you have any questions related to research using the library's catalog or journal databases, please feel free to contact us in person or via telephone (217-786-2352). Our Reference Desk is staffed from 8:30 a.m. to close, Monday through Friday.
Highlighted on this page you will find a sampling of LLCC Library eJournals & electronic databases, which are available to you as an LLCC student.
What is an eJournal? An eJournal (electronic journal) provides publication of periodicals--magazines, scholarly journals, trade publications, etc.--electronically for your convenience. LLCC's eJournals are freely accessible electronically to our students and staff.
What is a database?
A database provides electronic access to articles from periodicals published in print. What does this mean for you? It means that if the article of interest is available through one of our databases, then you can access it as long as you have an Internet connection. You can access these articles from the comfort of your own home with the ability to read or request the article online, print, save or download the article. Being able to access articles electronically allows you the freedom of accessing information anytime of day or night.
If you are accessing our databases off-campus, then you will notice that when you click on a database you will first be prompted to sign in with a username and password. Please note that this is the same LLCC username and password you use to access BlackBoard, LLCC email, & WebAdvisor.
CriminologyAll of the items on this page are physically located in the LLCC Library. We have circulating books--which are books you can check out and take home with you--and non-circulating books--which are books that cannot go home with you. A patron may look at non-circulating materials anywhere in the library, make photocopies, or scan and email pages to oneself, but they must stay in the library.
LLCC Library also has a large collection of electronic books, which you can access directly from your computer or tablet. You can view these by searching our book catalog (the lists below do not reflect e-Books).
Want to begin searching for materials from LLCC Library right now? Below is a search box that will search for anything in our collection -OR- go to the LLCC Library Homepage and search for a title or subject under the Books & More tab. Give it a whirl:
The library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize its books. Most of the library's Criminal Justice books are located under the call number "HV". You will find additional criminal justice/criminology/law-related books under other call numbers, as well. The below list is not all-inclusive, but meant to serve as a starting point to finding information.
HV 6001-7220.5 CRIMINOLOGY books are found here
HV 6035-6197 (Criminal anthropology--including criminal types, criminal psychology, prison psychology, causes of crime )
HV6250-6250.4 (Victims of Crime. Victimology )
HV 6251-6773.55 (Crimes & offenses)
HV7231-9960 CRIMINAL JUSTICE ADMINISTRATION books are found here
HV7431 (Prevention of crime, methods, etc. )
HV7435-7439 (Gun Control )
HV7551-8280.7 (Police. Detectives. Constabulary )
HV8031-8080 (Police duty. Methods of protection )
HV8073-8079.35 (Investigation of crimes. Examination & identification of prisoners )
HV8301-9920.7 (Penology. Prisons. Corrections )
K5000-5582 (Criminal law & procedure )
KF LAW OF THE UNITED STATES books are found here
KFI1201-1799 (Illinois )
Abuse by
This timely volume shows how abuse impacts every segment of society--and how society is seeking effective ways to respond. * Offers an introductory essay that places the subject in context and provides a framework within which to study and understand abuse * Features entries from leading scholars who provide a contemporary approach to the issues * Covers a wide range of types of abuse, individuals and organizations affected by abuse, and people working to reduce and eliminate abuse * Includes summaries of laws that apply to various forms of abuse * Provides a "topic finder" to assist readers in locating information relative to particular types of abuse
Crime and Punishment in America by
Covering some of the most hotly contested topics in crime and criminal justice, including proposed sentencing and prison reforms, controversial developments like Stand Your Ground laws, and Supreme Court decisions, this work supplies essential background, current data, and a range of viewpoints on these important issues. * Provides readers with a thorough analysis of the most controversial topics in criminal justice that includes contributions from renowned scholars, activists, victim service providers, and other experts * Addresses current trends and problems in America's criminal justice system * Includes tables, graphs, and charts tracking the most important developments related to crime, sentencing, and the prison system
Drugs in American Society by
Containing more than 450 entries, this easy-to-read encyclopedia provides concise information about the history of and recent trends in drug use and drug abuse in the United States--a societal problem with an estimated cost of $559 billion a year. * Contains more than 450 detailed entries on topics ranging from drugs themselves--such as alcohol, codeine, heroin, marijuana, and methamphetamines--to key individuals like Harry Anslinger to organizations such as the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) * Covers the latest developments in U.S. policies and public attitudes toward drugs and drug use * Provides citations with each entry to guide users to other valuable research resources * Features carefully selected primary documents--including excerpts from important laws, policies, and campaigns--that have shaped American drug policy over the decades
The Encyclopedia of Corrections by
A comprehensive, up-to-date, and authoritative two volume reference work for the fields of corrections and criminal justice featuring over 280 detailed scholarly entries Assembles a global team of experts from within their respective fields under the guidance of Editor-in-Chief Kent R. Kerley Provides comprehensive coverage of key topics in corrections, including history, trends and types of punishment, correctional theory, policy, and law Summarizes the latest theory and practice in major topical areas such as sentencing, community corrections, jails and prisons, special populations, women, juveniles, treatment, prisoner reentry, and the death penalty Brings together cutting-edge examples from criminal justice systems throughout the US and around the world to provide an essential go-to resource for students, scholars, and researchers This work is also available as an online resource: www.encyclopediaofcorrections.com
Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics by
Federal, state, county, and municipal police forces all have their own codes of conduct, yet the ethics of being a police officer remain perplexing and are often difficult to apply in dynamic situations. The police misconduct statistics are staggering and indicate that excessive use of force comprises almost a quarter of misconduct cases, with sexual harassment, fraud/theft, and false arrest being the next most prevalent factors. The ethical issues and dilemmas in criminal justice also reach deep into the legal professions, the structure and administration of justice in society, and the personal characteristics of those in the criminal justice professions. The Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics includes A to Z entries by experts in the field that explore the scope of ethical decision making and behaviors within the spheres of criminal justice systems, including policing, corrections, courts, forensic science, and policy analysis and research. This two-volume set is available in both print and electronic formats. Features: Entries are authored and signed by experts in the field and conclude with references and further readings, as well as cross references to related entries that guide readers to the next steps in their research journeys. A Reader′s Guide groups related entries by broad topic areas and themes, making it easy for readers to quickly identify related entries. A Chronology highlights the development of the field and places material into historical context; a Glossary defines key terms from the fields of law and ethics; and a Resource Guide provides lists of classic books, academic journals, websites and associations focused on criminal justice ethics. Reports and statistics from such sources as the FBI, the United Nations, and the International Criminal Court are included in an appendix. In the electronic version, the Reader′s Guide, index, and cross references combine to provide effective search-and-browse capabilities. The Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics provides a general, non-technical yet comprehensive resource for students who wish to understand the complexities of criminal justice ethics.Key Themes: History of Criminal Justice Ethics General Criminal Justice Ethics Police Ethics Legal Ethics Correctional Ethics Criminal Justice Cases and Controversies Technology, Crime, and Ethics Ethics and Critical Criminology
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America by
Anyone living or working in a city has feared or experienced street crime at one time or another, whether it be a mugging, purse snatching or a more violent crime. In the United States, street crime has recently hovered near historic lows; hence, the declaration of certain analysts that street life in America has never been safer. But is it really? Street crime has changed over past decades, especially with the advent of surveillance cameras in public places - the territory of the street criminal - but at the same time, criminals have found ways to adapt. This encyclopedic reference focuses primarily on urban lifestyle and its associated crimes, ranging from burglary to drug peddling to murder to new, more sophisticated forms of street crime and scams. This traditional A-to-Z reference has significant coverage of police and courts and other criminal justice subdisciplines while also featuring thematic articles on the sociology of street crime.
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention by
Victimology and crime prevention are growing, interrelated areas cutting across several disciplines. Victimology examines victims of all sorts of criminal activity, from domestic abuse, to street violence, to victims in the workplace who lose jobs and pensions due to malfeasance by corporate executives. Crime prevention is an important companion to victimology because it offers insight and techniques to prevent situations that lead to crime and attempts to offer ideas and means for mitigating or minimizing the potential for victimization. .In many ways, the two fields have developed along parallel yet separate paths, and the literature on both has been scattered across disciplines as varied as sociology, law and criminology, public health and medicine, political science and public policy, economics, psychology and human services, and more. The Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention provides a comprehensive reference work bringing together such dispersed knowledge as it outlines and discusses the status of victims within the criminal justice system and topics of deterring and preventing victimization in the first place and responding to victims′ needs. Two volumes containing approximately 375 signed entries provide users with the most authoritative and comprehensive reference resource available on victimology and crime prevention, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage. In addition to standard entries, leading scholars in the field have contributed Anchor Essays that, in broad strokes, provide starting points for investigating the more salient victimology and crime prevention topics. A representative sampling of general topic areas covered includes: interpersonal and domestic violence, child maltreatment, and elder abuse; street violence; hate crimes and terrorism; treatment of victims by the media, courts, police, and politicians; community response to crime victims; physical design for crime prevention; victims of nonviolent crimes; deterrence and prevention; helping and counseling crime victims; international and comparative perspectives, and more.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism, Second Edition, is a thoroughly updated and expanded edition of the original, highly regarded reference work. Nearly 100,000 words of new material has been added, along with fully updated original entries, expanded coverage, and multimedia elements (audio and video clips, links to primary documents and more) accompany the electronic version. New entries will explore the impact of terrorism on economics, public health, religion and even pop culture. Ethical issues such as the role of torture in interrogations, competing notions of security versus liberty, and the debates over FISA legislation and Guantanamo Bay will also be covered. Two dozen entries on significant recent events - such as the London bombings, Chechen attacks on Russian interests, and the rescue of Ingrid Bettancourt - and some 60 additional new entries will restore the work as an up-to-the-minute, natural first-stop for researchers.
The U. S. Justice System - An Encyclopedia by
A comprehensive, three-volume set that provides detailed background essays, short topical entries, and primary document excerpts to explain the organization, history, and functioning of the U.S. justice system. * More than 50 contributing scholars provide a variety of expertise from the fields of law, history, and politics * A separate volume of primary source documents * A comprehensive bibliography as well as suggested readings for each essay and article * A glossary of hundreds of key terms like "contract," "injunction," and "precedent"
American Prisons by
Imprisonment has become big business in the United States. Using a "history of ideas" approach, this book examines the cultural underpinnings of prisons in the United States and explores how shared ideas about imprisonment evolve into a complex, loosely connected nationwide system of prisons that keeps enough persons to populate a small nation behind bars, razor wire and electrified fences. Tracing both the history of the prison and the very idea of imprisonment in the United States, this book provides students with a critical overview of American prisons and considers their past, their present and directions for the future. Topics covered include: #65533; a history of imprisonment in America from 1600 to the present day; #65533; the twentieth-century prison building bin≥ #65533; the relationship between U.S. prisons and the private sect∨ #65533; a critical account of capital punishment; #65533; less-visible prison minorities, including women, children and the elderly; and #65533; sex, violence and disease in prison. This comprehensive book is essential reading for advanced courses on corrections and correctional management and offers a compelling and provocative analysis of the realities of American penal culture from past to present. It is perfect reading for students of criminal justice, corrections, penology and the sociology of punishment.
Anatomy of Innocence by
Wrongful convictions, long regarded as statistical anomalies in an otherwise sound justice system, now appear with frightening regularity. But few people understand just how or why they happen and, more important, the immeasurable consequences that often haunt the lucky few who are acquitted, years after they are proven innocent. Now, in this groundbreaking anthology, fourteen exonerated inmates narrate their stories to a roster of high-profile mystery and thriller writers--including Lee Child, Sara Paretsky, Laurie R. King, Jan Burke and S. J. Rozan--while another exoneree's case is explored in a previously unpublished essay by legendary playwright Arthur Miller. An astonishing and unique collaboration, these testimonies bear witness to the incredible stories of innocent men and women who were convicted of serious crimes and cast into the maw of a vast and deeply flawed American criminal justice system before eventually, and miraculously, being exonerated. Introduced by best-selling authors Scott Turow and Barry Scheck, these master storytellers capture the tragedy of wrongful convictions as never before and challenge readers to confront the limitations and harsh realities of the American criminal justice system. Lee Child tells of Kirk Bloodsworth, who obsessively read about the burgeoning field of DNA testing, cautiously hoping that it held the key to his acquittal--until he eventually became the first person to be exonerated from death row based on DNA evidence. Judge John Sheldon and author Gayle Lynds team up to share Audrey Edmunds's experience raising her children long distance from her prison cell. And exoneree Gloria Killian recounts to S. J. Rozan her journey from that fateful "knock on the door" and the initial shock of accusation to the scars she carries today. Together, the powerful stories collected within the Anatomy of Innocence detail every aspect of the experience of wrongful conviction, as well as the remarkable depths of endurance sustained by each exoneree who never lost hope.
Beyond Community Policing by
Beyond Community Policing uses history and general sociological theory to examine the trajectory of municipal policing from Britain in the 1830s to its adoption and evolution in the America.By analysing the uncertain and uneven historical development of policing, this book illustrates in great detail the functional connections between cities (or communities) and police departments. Chriss also considers the development of municipal policing in the American West between 1850 and 1890, which helps to situate the current discussion of policing in the post 9/11 United States.
Civil Disobedience by
Greenhaven Publishing's At Issue series provides a wide range of opinions on individual social issues. Each volume focuses on a specific issue and offers a variety of perspectives-eyewitness accounts, governmental views, scientific analysis, newspaper and magazine accounts, and many more-to illuminate the issue. Extensive bibliographies and annotated lists of relevant organizations point to sources for further research. Enhancing critical thinking skills, each At Issue volume is an excellent research tool to help readers understand current social issues and prepare reports. Book jacket.
Fanaticism, Racism, and Rage Online by
Fanaticism, Racism, and Rage Online is a critical exploration of digital hate culture and its myriad infiltrations into the modern online community. The book examines radical movements that have emerged both on the fringes of the Internet, as well as throughout the web's most popular spaces where extremist voices now intermix with mainstream politics and popular culture. This investigation brings to light the different forms of extremist culture on the web, from the blatant hate websites, to the much more invasive faux-social networks, racist political blogs, and pseudo-scientific domains.
Guns in America by
A national debate continues to rage in regard to 2nd amendment rights in contemporary society. This collection will deal with concerns about domestic violence committed by guns, the ramifications of a widely armed citizenry, the government's failure to pass comprehensive gun legislation, as well as police brutality, strong gun lobbies, open-carry laws, home-grown terrorism, fatal shootings of black men by police in Louisiana and Minnesota, and the Orlando massacre. From domestic terrorism, to the Black Lives Matter movement articles in this title will reflect differences in policy views on the subject in the longstanding debate around gun rights and gun control.
The History of Street Gangs in the United States by
This book is an historical account of the emergence of youth gangs and the transformation of these into street gangs in the United States. The author traces the emergence of these gangs in the four major geographical regions over the span of two centuries, from the early 1800s to 2012. The author's authoritative analysis explains gang emergence and expansion from play groups to heavily armed street gangs responsible for a large proportion of urban crimes, including drive-by shootings that often kill innocent bystanders. Nationwide, street gangs now account for 1 in 6 homicides each year, and for 1 in 4 in very large cities. In recent years, the number of gangs, gang members, and gang homicides increased, even though the U.S. has seen a sharp drop in violent and property crimes over the past decade. The author's historical analysis reveals the key contributing factors to transformation of youth gangs, including social disorganization that occurred following large-scale immigration early in American history and urban policies that pushed minorities to inner city areas and public housing projects. This analysis includes the influence of prison gangs on street gangs. The first generation of prison gangs emerged spontaneously in response to dangers inside prisons. The second generation was for many years extensions of street gangs that grew enormously during the 1980s and 1990s, particularly in large urban areas in which public housing projects have served as incubators for street gangs. The third generation of prison gangs is extremely active in street-level criminal enterprises in varied forms, often highly structured and well managed organizations that are actively involved in drug trafficking. In recent years, returning inmates are a predominant influence on local gang violence. Now, prison gangs and street gangs often work together in street-level criminal enterprises. This book identifies the most promising ways that gang violence can be reduced. The best long-term approach is a combination of gang prevention, intervention, and suppression strategies and programs. Targeted suppression of gang violence is imperative. Street-workers that serve as violence interrupters can break the cycle of contagious gang violence.
Policing by 
The Use and Abuse of Police Power in America by
Providing a timely and much-needed investigation of how U.S. law enforcement carries out its public safety and crime fighting mandates, this book is an invaluable resource for students, educators, and concerned citizens. * Provides a single-volume, go-to source for insight into police-citizen relations in the United States, from the 17th century through to today * Documents major turning points and historical events influencing the evolution of police power * Provides both supportive and critical perspectives on contemporary trends in law enforcement activities, attitudes, and practices * Enables a fuller comprehension of law enforcement in an era of significant political and social upheaval, much of which is tied to racial, ethnic, or economic factors
https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/section/2/
Purdue OWL shows how to create a proper citation along with examples. Additionally, it shows you how to do in-text citations; gives an example of a research paper with all the proper citation included; and exercises to practice certain skills.
