Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LLCC Databases of Interest
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCOHost)
Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOHost)
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Newspaper Source (EBSCOHost)
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Film Web Resources
The All-Movie Guide contains entries for over 220,000 films and credits for 1.5 million cast and crew. Each entry includes a short review and plot synopsis written specifically for this site.
"You are only a click or so away from top websites related to arts and literature. Many of these sites do not always appear prominently in the result lists of major search engines, so you may come across sites you would not always find using such automated search tools. This directory, far more than a mere ‘list of links,’ is organized by category such as subject, genre, period, name or country so that visitors can easily find the websites most relevant to their field of enquiry. As well as a reference index, this site is also an arts ‘hub’ and news source."
Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts.
"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."
Some of the information found here will be available. For information that does not offer full-text, as long as the article is indexed by one of LLCC's databases, you can request the full article.
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
"IMDb started in 1990 as a hobby project by an international group of movie and TV fans. IMDb is now the world’s most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content. We offer a searchable database of more than 185 million data items including more than 3.5 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and 7 million cast and crew members."
Jump Cut: A Review of Contemporary Media
"Jump Cut is run on a nonprofit basis by its staff and is not affiliated with or supported by any institution. Begun in 1974 as a film publication, JUMP CUT now publishes material on film, television, video, new media, and related media and cultural analysis."
Launched in 2001, Metacritic aggregates movie, music, television and video game criticism.
Edited by film critics Tom Mes and Jasper Sharp, Midnight Eye is a free website dedicated to Japanese cinema, which includes numerous interviews, film reviews, book reviews and original features.
MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
"The continually growing site provides a searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies. The unique combination of reviews, news, and user discussion—all accessed through MRQE’s search portal—allows any user to read and add to the Internet’s most comprehensive collection of opinion about film"
National Film Registry
"Established by the National Film Preservation Act of 1988, the National Film Preservation Board works to ensure the survival, conservation and increased public availability of America's film heritage, including: advising the Librarian on its recommendations for annual selections to the National Film Registry, apprising the Librarian of changing trends and policies in the field of film preservation, and counseling the Librarian on ongoing implementation of the National Film Preservation Plan."
New York Times- movie reviews
You can access 4 free articles per month, per device.
"Offscreen has been online since 1997. Based in Montréal, Offscreen is a wide-ranging film journal that covers film festivals, retrospectives, film forums, and both popular and more academic events. Part of our mandate is to cover the Montreal film scene, but within an international context. The scope of its content, and the type of material featured and promoted in Offscreen can be summarized as follows:
1) personal and independent film above big budget, formulaic film 2) the under-represented (young, up and coming filmmakers) 3) films with creative design and broad social commitment 4) local and Canadian films/filmmakers 5) Asian and alternative cinemas (horror, exploitation, esoteric, experimental, documentary, etc.)."
"With more than 100,000 titles and 360,000 review links in its ever-growing database, Rotten Tomatoes offers a fun and informative way to discover the critical reaction on movies from the nation's top print and online film critics, neatly summarized via the Tomatometer™."
Senses of Cinema
"Senses of Cinema is an Australian online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema. Believing cinema is an art that can take many forms, from the industrially-produced blockbuster to the hand-crafted experimental work, they aim to encourage awareness of the histories of such diverse forms. Senses of Cinema is primarily concerned with ideas about particular films or bodies of work, but also with the regimes (ideological, economic and so forth) under which films are produced and viewed, and with the more abstract theoretical and philosophical issues raised by film study."
Sangamon Hall- Main Level l l Circulation Desk: 217-786-2354 l l
Reference Desk: 217-786-2352 l l
Fall & Spring Semester Hours
Monday- Thursday- 7:30 a.m. - 9 p.m. | | Friday- 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. | | Saturday- 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. | | Closed Sunday
No weekend hours during Semester Breaks & Holidays.
Monday- Thursday- 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. Closed Friday, Saturday, & Sunday.
Lincoln Land Community College Web Accessibility Statement
VPAT Repository for CARLI eResources