It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases by Subject: News
Students have access to over 100 subscription databases through the library. On this guide, each of the databases are arranged by subject.
The database features over 670,000 articles from more than 210 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news. All of these varied alternative and independent presses are presented in 100% full text, allowing researchers total access to regional, rural, and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues. Providing an alternative to corporate controlled media, the Alt-Press Watch database presents big stories from small sources.
This database captures the greatest events in history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text. AP Images Collection is a primary source database from the Associated Press, one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world. Content includes more than 12 million photographs dating back to 1826 and more than 36,000 audio sound bites.
Also includes more than 340,000 professionally-produced graphics including the following: Maps, Graphs, Charts, Logos, Flags, Illustrations, Photos, and more.
Current Affairs in Video features award-winning films and documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical political issues of the day. From the AIDS crisis in Africa to the worldwide impact of European economic instability, the growing interconnectedness of our world has informed a set of global priorities. This collection, growing to more than 500 hours of content allows students and scholars to view global events and trends through an interdisciplinary, multi-regional lens with a focus on core areas such as environmental policy; health policy; human rights, international justice and terrorism; institutional corruption; migration and the global economy; poverty; religious tension and conflict.
Ethnic NewsWatch features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. This full resource presents a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 publications, from 1959-1989. Ethnic NewsWatch includes hard-to-find community publications, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicity and ethnic studies.
General OneFile (Gale) is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
iPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date resource for US public opinion poll and data finding aid to locate questions rich in a particular subject, with direct links into the catalog of datasets and survey questionnaires.
News (Gale OneFile) provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. This database is available on the ProQuest platform.
Chicago Tribune (1985-Current)
Los Angeles Times (1985-Current)
New York Times (1980-Current)
The Wall Street Journal (1984-Current)
The Washington Post (1987-Current)
Remote Search & Login
LLCC Library Databases
Require UserID & Password
Use LLCC UserID & Password
same login for:
Users are prompted for credentials when they first attempt to log in to use the databases (click on a database link to begin).
Completing the login process provides access to all databases for the duration of that browser session.